Nancy Wolitzer

Standard

I create intricate drawings and paintings on paper, scratchboard, clayboard, and glass—comprised of many small and personal markings. While the intimate details and density of the markings can draw the eye to a particular corner or segment of the piece, I try to create a larger world that the viewer can briefly enter.  The sense of place, that you are somewhere else, is essential to my work. I sometimes incorporate gold leaf in order to add another dimension and level of delicacy.

I am drawn to nature—trees, caves, waterfalls. Over the years my work has transitioned from abstract to more representational aspects of nature.

My greater aim is to explore the connection between intimacy and openness, and the spaces in between.

Visit Nancy’s awesome blog http://nancywolitzer.com

nancy1

I DREAMT IN GREEN, INK ON CLAYBOARD

nancy2

RESPITE, INK ON CLAYBOARD

nancy3

CALM AGAIN, INK ON CLAYBOARD

nancy5

LITTLE PIECES, COLLAGE, PAPER AND PENCIL ON PAPER

nancy8animalportraitsscratchboard

TOBY, SCRATCHBOARD

Unnatural Journal, page 16

Unnatural Journal

nancy9scratchboard

SUKI, SCRATCHBOARD

nancycollage6.jpg

WALL, COLLAGE, INK AND PENCIL ON PAPERNANCY10

UNNATURAL JOURNAL

About hobo hippie

Hi I am an old hippie, a "beat" poet and novelist, and digital artist. I was co -editor and publisher of "Alpha Beat Press" alpha beat soup, bouillabaisse and cokefish and cokefishing in alpha beat soup with my late husband Dave Christy. My novel "eeenie meenie minee moe is for sale on amazon books. my other blogs are http://tilliespuncturedromance.wordpress.com about humor and the weird. The blog is named after a Charlie Chaplin movie. https://concretebologna.wordpress.com a blog about world art.

Leave a Reply

